Wednesday, May 11, 2011

There will be new turnover in Howell city government

The latest from the Argus

Mayor Pro Tem Steve Manor and Mayor Gerri Moen will vie to keep their seats on the seven-member panel, but Councilmembers Tom Malloy and Scott Patton chose not to seek re-election. Malloy and Patton served 13 years and four years, respectively, on the council.

Moen, a longtime resident and mayor since 2000, is facing a challenge from Phillip Campbell for the city’s top elected spot, and joining Manor in filing nominating paperwork for other council seats are former Councilmember Doug Heins; Allen Schlittler, a local chiropractor, Victoria Hertrich and Daria Devantier.

Malloy was one of the better council-members there and didn't vote for some of the controversial aspects of the cityscape project (mini-circles).

There will be no August Primary this year because of the number of people running. Six people are running, and four will win. The mayoral race will be one one one between Campbell and Moen in November.

No comments: