Thursday, April 28, 2005

State Senate - District 28

State Senate - District 28

2006 Contest
Republican Candidates – Scott Harvey (Belmont), Mark Jansen (Grand Rapids), James Koetje (Grandville), Joanne Voorhees (Wyoming)
Democrat Candidates – Albert Abbassee (Byron Center)
Current Rep – Ken Sikkema (R-Wyoming)

2002 Results
Ken Sikkema – 66.08%
Michelle Berry – 33.92%

Presidential results:
Bush – 65.21%
Kerry – 33.89%

Republican Michigander’s prognosis – Safe Republican

District covers:
Kent County: Ada Township, Algome Township, Alpine Township, Bowne Township,
Byron Township, Caledonia Township, Cannon Township, Cedar Springs, Courtland Township, East Grand Rapids, Gaines Township, Grand Rapids Township, Nelson Township, Oakfield Township, Plainfield Township, Rockford, Solon Township,
Spencer Township, Tyrone Township, Walker, Wyoming

This district covers most of Kent County outside of the City of Grand Rapids. It is the second most Republican district in the state, behind the Ottawa County based district. Ken Sikkema is the Senate Majority Leader, and he’s termed out leaving an open seat.

The primary is the big race here. No area really dominates the district, but Wyoming has 1/5 of the voters, so there is a geographic advantage in that area. There are several strong candidates running here, including current or former state reps Mark Jansen, Joanne Voorhees, and James Koetje. I do not know anything about Scott Harvey, but I’m on the east side of the state, so I’m not as informed about the Grand Rapids area as some others are.

Whoever wins the GOP primary should win easily. The only democrat leaning area in Kent County is the City of Grand Rapids itself, and that’s in another district.

1 comment:

Scott Harvey said...

I am Scott Harvey and you can find out more about me by visiting